Categories
book review

Me and my childhood

In the process of growing up majority of us forget the basic version of ourselves, being a child. Here is a letter to myself in which I have tried to revive some childhood memories.

Dear, my childhood It seems like yesterday when you learnt to take your first steps. Didn’t it make you wonder that how you have grown up to be me. It has become a blur now, don’t you think? It is now just the nostalgia, knowing the fact that it won’t ever be the same. I miss how your sole purpose of life was eat, sleep, play and repeat. Well now I do have sleep, eat and repeat but play is not my forte anymore. Tummy! How can I forget that. I remember you being hungry almost all the time. And if your tummy felt content then you used to be happy all day.

Then let me tell about your sleep. You slept in tension, slept in the absence of tension, slept when bored, slept when tired and slept for almost every occasion. Now I do miss that sleep or the liberty to sleep when I want to.

Now that I think about it, I really don’t remember when was the last time I had a hearty laugh. I envy you sometimes because you used to laugh for anything and nothing but still it used to be very genuine one. Laughing is the best medicine, now I understand why you used to be so healthy and now look at me, I seem like a shop of issues.

Everyday, I see my brother for just few hours because now we both are earning and remain out of the house for longer duration and the conversation has become less. I recall that you used to fight with him everyday, at least you had some conversation and on top of that you used to go to same school so you saw him every now and then. It sometimes break my heart to even think that I can’t do the same thing now.

I have issues with my parents but you, you have always tried to love them unconditionally, I also do the same but my middle adulthood sometimes give me reasons to fight with them. You always feared to get a scolding or beating from parents yet you craved for it. I crave for their some understanding. But the bottom line is I love them same as you did.

This new stage I am in right now, is teaching me a lot and I am enjoying it but still you and your age was something which should be in golden letters. I do miss being you.

Yours lovely, adulthood.

By terriblechange

Amateur reader and writer. A student of Psychology. Currently working as a Psychology teacher.

5 replies on “Me and my childhood”

Leave a comment